Hector W. Kay Memorial Lectureship

Hector W. Kay was born in Australia, November 1, 1909. After his basic education in Australia, he completed his formal education in 1938 at Springfield College where he received a Masters Degree in Education. It was also here that Hector met and married Katherine Johnson, a Springfield native.  Hector's early association with prosthetics and prosthetic education began at New York University where he spent the years 1952 through 1965 in the Adult and Child Prosthetic Studies group. During this period, he became intimately associated with the Sub-Committee on Children's Prosthetic Problems of the Committee on Prosthetics Research and Development of the National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council. He was instrumental in developing the original cooperative clinic group, working very closely with the pioneers in this field: Drs. George T. Aitken, Charles Frantz, Newton McCollough and Claude Lambert. In 1965, he left New York University to join the Committee on Prosthetics Research and Development of the National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council as Assistant Executive Director. Here he continued to coordinate the activities of the Sub-Committee on Children's Prosthetic Problems. The committee was gradually expanded to cover orthotic problems as well as the prosthetic problems. During this period, Hector also acted as editor of the Interclinic Information Bulletin. The Interclinic Information Bulletin has more recently had a name change to the Journal of the Association of Children's Prosthetic-Orthotic Clinics. Hector retired from the Committee on Prosthetics Research and Development in 1974, and met a very untimely death on March 31, 1975. He is deeply mourned by all of those who knew him, respected him, and looked to him for advice. No organization owes more to one individual than does the Association of Children's Prosthetic-Orthotic Clinics. Though founded after his death, ACPOC owes its existence to an organization he nurtured.


Past Hector Kay Lecturers

1985 Charles Scott, MD, Wilmington, DE

1986 Georg Neff, MD, Tubingen, Germany

1987 R. Merv Letts, MD, FRCS(c), Winnipeg, MB, Canada

1988 Norman Berger, BS, MS, New York, NY

1989 Dudley Childress, PhD, Chicago, IL

1990 Leon Kruger, MD, Springfield, MA

1991 Charles H. Epps, Jr., MD, Washington, DC

1992 N/A

1993 Robert E. Tooms, MD, Memphis, TN

1994 Yosio Setoguchi, MD, Los Angeles, CA

1995 Mary Williams Clark, MD, Hershey, PA

1996 Michael J. Goldberg, MD, Boston, MA

1997 Michael Lovett, PhD, Dallas, TX

1998 Curtis D. Edholm, MD, Grand Rapids, MI

1999 Hugh G. Watts, MD, St. Pete’s Beach, FL

2000 Michael Keith, MD, Banff, AB, Canada

2001 Lewis B. Holmes, MD, Houston, TX

2002 Craig W. Heckathorne, MS, Chicago, IL

2003 Sandra Dukat, Heber City, UT

2004 Michelle A. James, MD, Sacramento, CA

2005 Peter F. Armstrong, MD, Tampa, FL

2006 Randall R. Betz, MD, Philadelphia, PA

2007 John R. Fisk, MD, Springfield, IL

2008 James A. Harder, MD, Alberta, BC, Canada

2009 Sheila Hubbard, OT, PT, Toronto, ON, Canada

2010 Kenneth J. Guidera, MD, Twin Cities, MN

2011 John H. Bowker, MD, Miami, FL

2012 Ellen M. Raney, MD, Portland, OR

2013 Terry R. Trammell, MD, Indianapolis, IN

2014 Lori A. Karol, MD, Dallas, TX

2015 Eric P. Neufeld, CPO, FAAOP, Denver, CO and David J. Krupa, CP, Quito, Ecuador

2016 Melissa Stockwell, CP, Chicago, IL

2017 Scott Kozin, MD, Philadelphia, PA

2018 John Birch, MD, Dallas, TX